ambiguity code

The standard ambiguity codes for nucleotides are provided by IUPAC (INTERNATIONAL UNION OF PURE AND APPLIED CHEMISTRY) and indicate the possible nucleotides that can occur at a given position. The symbols are valid for both DNA and RNA and are shown below:

A = adenine

C = cytosine

G = guanine

T = thymine

R = G A (purine)

Y = T C (pyrimidine)

K = G T (keto)

M = A C (amino)

S = G C (strong bonds)

W = A T (weak bonds)

B = G T C (all but A)

D = G A T (all but C)

H = A C T (all but G)

V = G C A (all but T)

N = A G C T (any)

Subscribe to ambiguity code